COMUN Practice Debate 2

Practice Debate 2 (PD2) was by far my best performance yet. I spoke more than all previous times combined. I felt more confident and brought forth valuable ideas into the committee.

Discussing the obliteration of the global black market of illegal drug trafficking and its related progenies.

Practice Debate 1 (PD1) was the first real taste of COMUN this season. OSC welcomed hundreds of delegates, admins, and exco members onto its campus. It was a day filled with heated argument, some very intelligent ideas, and resolutions.

I, along with many other delegates from my school, am in General Assembly 3 a.k.a. SOCHUM, which stands for “Social, Humanitarian & Cultural” committee. GA3’s mandate allows it to discuss issues in the world regarding the advancement of women, the protection of children, indigenous issues, the treatment of refugees, the promotion of fundamental freedoms through the elimination of racism and racial discrimination, and the right to self- determination. Furthermore, the committee also addresses important social development questions such as issues related to youth, family, ageing, persons with disabilities, crime prevention, criminal justice, and international drug control.

PD1 in the third general assembly was all about the “effective implementation of the SDG’s in promoting gender equality and empowering women”. Delegates mainly discussed how the Sustainable Development Goals could be achieved without room for failure like the Millennium Development Goals.

Throughout COMUN 2016, I will be representing the Republic of Cuba. Although Cuba has had some complications with gender equality in the past, the situation recently has significantly improved. Thus, Cuba was in a good position during practice debate 1.

I spoke roughly 2 to 3 times, which was a considerable improvement over COMUN 2015, where I spoke that same amount throughout the entire conference. Also, to my astonishment, some of the operative clauses I was able to come up with were actually good enough to be selected into the final resolution.

I was definitely more successful in practice debate 1 than I have ever been. Yet, there is still lots of room for improvement. I must get to the point where I am able to improvise anywhere, anytime and speak confidently in committee. That will only come with time and experience. For now, I am looking forward to more research and a better practice debate 2.

 

For more information on COMUN 2016, check out the website: comun2016.org

Leave a Reply

