A Summary of 2 Years

My CAS experiences have been nothing short of an odyssey. The aspects of Creativity, Activity, and Service have enhanced my IB diploma experience in a way that has molded me into an all-rounded person. However, like all good things in life, this CAS journey must also come to an end as I approach the end of my IB DP career. Every moment of this journey has been extraordinarily resourceful, and has developed me in ways my academics alone couldn’t.

 

Join me as I take you through my 2 year CAS story…

The CAS experience revolves around 7 learning objectives each of which I was able to thoroughly fulfill over the 2 years.

 

  1. Identify own strengths and develop areas of growth.

 

My involvement in a multitude of different activities means that I have polished existing strengths and developed areas of growth. Two prime examples of this are Colombo Model United Nations and Community Film. In the 3 years I have done COMUN, I have developed debating and communication skills. As Head of Logistics for COMUN 2017, I was also able to refine my management and leadership skills. Community Film allowed me to explore my skills in filmmaking while connecting them to community service at the same time.

 

  1. Demonstrate that challenges have been undertaken, developing new skills in the process.

 

COMUN was definitely a big challenge for me. When I first took on the roles of delegate in Grade 10 and Head of Logistics in Grade 12, I was walking into uncharted territories. In the end, I have come out with better communication skills and the ability to manage my time with academics better. Physical activities such as our Gecko Factor dance performance and badminton have been challenging in that we had to compete with other teams or people to secure a place for ourselves. We may have succeeded in dance and I may have failed in badminton, but overall it allowed me to develop skills I don’t often get a chance to do. Circuitry 101 was also a brand new experience for me, which allowed me to gain some basic insight into the field of circuitry.

 

  1. Demonstrate how to initiate and plan a CAS experience.

 

Community Film was the first project I undertook when I entered the diploma program in Grade 11. Surprisingly, it has been one of the best non-academic things I have done so far. Getting this community service organization started involved a lot of planning and dealing with problems. Over the 2 years, we have achieved many great things. These include expanding the number of members, increasing the number and type of equipments available to us, and making multiple short films. I am proud to have come up with the idea of this service, and believe it will accomplish many great feats in the years to come.

 

  1. Show commitment to and perseverance in CAS experiences.

 

Commitment and perseverance are two qualities I have never lacked. This was demonstrated by my involvement in many different activities during every moment of the two years. While editing videos, I would have to spend long hours on end to create videos on schedule. As Head of Logistics for COMUN, I needed to balance logistical tasks with my day-to-day academics for nearly six months. This was worth it however as I won the best EXCO member award for the most committed and dedicated.

 

  1. Demonstrate the skills and recognize the benefits of working collaboratively.

 

Collaboration is one of my favorite parts of CAS and was demonstrated in nearly every activity I undertook. During COMUN 2017, I was able to work with the entire executive committee to put on a great conference. For Community Film, I always worked in conjunction with another person to film, edit, and simply share creative ideas. For our dance, I worked with nine other people to choreograph a great performance. Sports like volleyball and badminton involved me practicing with other players so that everyone’s skills could increase. These were only some of the important times I was able to work with others. There were many more opportunities that can be seen throughout my blog.

 

  1. Demonstrate engagement with issues of global significance.

 

I am a global person and an avid follower of current events. COMUN was primarily the main area where I was able to engage with issues of global importance. Whether it be related to militaries and economies, or health and societies, I was able to research and speak on various different topics from around the world.

 

  1. Recognize and consider the ethics of choices and actions.

 

Nearly every CAS activity requires the consideration of underlying ethics. In my CAS journey, this was mainly demonstrated in Community Film, where I had to keep in mind the position of camera and other gear. I wanted to get the best shot but did not want to invade other people’s personal space either. It was a difficult task that I eventually learnt to balance.

 


It all began at the beginning of DP1 when I founded Community Film, a new service organization that embodied aspects of both creativity and service. Through our filmmaking skills, my co-leader Mohamed and I intended to create short films to raise awareness for the other service organizations present in our school through the medium of film.

 

My MUN and debating experience in DP1 was comprised of many different moving parts, the first of which were the weekly Monday sessions. As an MUNer with already 1 year of experience, I also had the responsibility of guiding my fellow novice delegates through the process of becoming capable debaters.

 

In September of 2015, four people from our MUN group were selected to attend a local debating competition held at Elizabeth Moir. I was one of them, accompanied by Ariana, Ika, and Sanoj. As we were OSC’s nearly first ever debating team, we had difficulties coping with the standards of debating other local schools in Colombo abided by. However, through teamwork and perseverance, we were able learn and develop our debating skills to a great extent.

 

Leave a Reply

